top of page

A must try when you are in Naga City

Chili

SILI ICE CREAM - COLONIAL GRILL

I know, right? Who puts chili on their ice cream?? This restaurant in Naga - Colonial Grill, decided to give it a twist by adding in some spice and coconut milk. There are even different levels of spiciness to choose from!

Because the extreme level wasn't available, we settled for a small cup of Level 3 Sili Ice cream. Being a sucker for spicy foods, my husband decided to take the test. I only took a quarter spoon to taste and a glass of water ready just in case.

It takes a few seconds before the spiciness kicks in. It isn't as spicy as I expected. It is quite tolerable. Although when I asked my Lola to give it a taste, she initially denied feeling the heat but a few seconds later, was hurrying me to bring her a glass of water. Yup, I also heard a few mild curses while I control my laughter as I pour water into her glass.

sili ice cream kinalas

KINALAS

If you were served with this dish without knowing what it really is, you would think it is just a regular mami (soup noodles). It doesn't look, smell weird or anything. Kinalas ("to fall off") describes the lengthy process of cooking the meat - "the meat falls off from the bone". The meat is extracted from the pork's face, leg and brains. You read it right - it has pork brains in it.

We ordered it with egg (for no reason, what's a mami without an egg?). There is an option to add siling labuyo (cayenne pepper) to boost the flavor and add a bit of spice. I know some who would feel queasy knowing that it has brains in it without actually tasting it.

I guess this dish can be considered exotic but I don't find anything foul with the taste. I didn't get to eat a lot (because my husband put too many siling labuyo and I can't tolerate the heat) but it tastes like just a regular mami.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Category
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page