top of page

Travel via DLTB Lazy Boy for a weekend getaway to NAGA


travelling bus

After a full week at work, packed with meetings and deadlines, wouldn't it be great to spend even a few days out of town? Hellooooo Weekend!! That was what I had in mind as soon as I end the day at work last June 3. We are off to NAGA CITY!

Naga is a city within the Bicol region (Region V) of the Philippines. You can take a plane, bus or car (if you're up to a very long drive) to Naga City. By plane is the best option to travel as long as you book in advance. It takes about 45 minutes to get to Pili, Camarines sur and another 15 minutes car ride to get to Naga City.

A bus trip to NAGA takes 8 hours on an average but can take longer depending on traffic conditions. If you’re a first timer or have kids with you, it makes sense to review your options so that you can make the most out of your trip.

Last June 3, my family (my 80 year old Lola, husband and 4 year old kid) at a drop of a hat decided to spend the weekend in Naga. It was my husband's first time to go and wanted to make sure he won't regret the long drive which is why we opted to travel by bus with lazy boy seats instead.

Don't follow my mistake and book in advance! Found out that there's a way to book a bus online!

I was feeling lazy, days before the trip, kept telling myself I'll get to do it the following day (which never came) and so I went to Shopwise, in Cubao, on the same day we were planning to travel. I did my research online and Isarog, Penafrancia or RSL were probably the best of the bus lines with Lazy boy seats but unfortunately, they were already fully booked. The last resort then was to check DLTB.

I was feeling dubious because the lady said that she can book the trip but we are not supposed to tell the main branch (which is along Aurora) that she booked the trip for us. When I agreed, she made a couple of phone calls and then later on confirmed that there were 3 seats available.

We spent roughly 2,500+ pesos for the fare - (1,000 pesos each with a discounted price for my Lola). We were given a receipt, a rough map of where the bus terminal is located and was scheduled for the 930pm trip for the same day. We breathed a sign of relief as soon as we got the tickets. Finally we are off to a family vacation!

We arrived exactly 930pm at the terminal but the bus arrived at 10pm and departed after 5 mins. We didn't get to take a good picture of the bus and only have this selfie to share.

My husband (Jason) and our son (EJ)

The seats were spacious. There weren't any arm rest between seats unlike the normal bus. My son got to sit between us and nestled snugly in my arms. It was a long ride to Naga but the Lazy boy seats made it bearable by allowing us to recline and put our feet up which lessened the discomfort of being seated for a long time.

There was also a comfort room available. Though getting there can be difficult since it's right in the middle of the bus and a couple of steps lower than the bus platform. My Lola only got to use it once just right before we left from one of the stops. It turned out to be a bumpy ride and our sore bottoms did arrive 8 hours later.

Will we ride DLTB Lazy boy again?

Maybe. It wasn't a bad experience at all. Compared to the bus we took on our way back to Manila, the seats in DLTB were more spacious and comfortable. While we didn't get to use the comfort room more often, it still provided a sense of relief knowing that if there was a need for any of us to go prior to reaching the stop, we won't have to worry as there is one accessible.

The time we spent in Naga was fairly short but we made sure to make time for a lot of fun activities. It was my husband's first time to go and there were a couple of things we made him try. On my future blogs, I will share some of the places we went to, food we tasted and a lot of fun stories more to share!

Talk to you guys soon!

Disclaimer: I did not receive any compensation for writing this post and the views I have shared are based from our experience.

Comentarios


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Category
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page